The Lord of The Rings – J.R.R.Tolkien

LOTR111Yes, I know, I’m a little late to this party. But I absolutely adore the films and decided it was about time I gave the books a go. And I’m glad I did (although they took a long time so now I’m behind on my other reading). You probably know the story: Frodo the Hobbit inherits a magical ring from his uncle, Bilbo, and ends up travelling on a long and dangerous journey in order to destroy the ring in the fires of Mount Doom to defeat Sauron, the Dark Lord.

I was pleasantly surprised with just how true to the books the films are. Too often adaptations leave out huge details of the story, but the only things in the books that are missing from the films are really not integral to the story (or not that exciting). Also, despite being written yonks ago, The Lord of The Rings has not become at all outdated. The language still makes sense and, I guess because it’s set in a magical world, the content doesn’t feel out-of-date or irrelevant. I have to say though, it’s a miracle any of the characters actually got anything done with the amount of singing they do (particularly in the first book). They could have saved Middle Earth a lot quicker if they quit the singing and actually got on with things.

I had some problems reading the final book, The Return of The King, because it really started to feel like the story was dragging on and then when Frodo destroyed the ring – oops, spoiler – and I was only 40% through the book I was starting to get really frustrated. Turns out the last 45% was appendices and maps, so the story was a lot shorter than it looked. Huge sense of achievement having finished the trilogy, and definitely worth the time it takes. Tolkien’s storytelling is fantastic, The Lord of The Rings is an ageless trilogy, and the books are every bit as good as the films (which are brilliant).

3 thoughts on “The Lord of The Rings – J.R.R.Tolkien

    • The Story Collector says:

      They are a bit heavy – there’s a looooot of description and songs etc, but to be honest I found a lot of those sections quite easy to skim over. If you want to really concentrate on it then it’s really heavy, but if you’re willing to skim over the less exciting parts then they’re a good read.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

