The Delphi Effect – Rysa Walker

30439157I have very mixed feelings about this book.

17-year-old Anna Morgan has spent her life moving between foster homes, along her with her ‘adoptive’ brother, Deo. She also has the ability to speak to the dead. When she unwittingly picks up the ghost of Molly, a young girl who was brutally murdered, Anna is dragged into the hunt for Molly’s killer which leads her and her new friends deep into a deadly government conspiracy.

The first half of the book didn’t really catch me. I liked the general idea and the characters weren’t annoying (which is rare in YA books), but the writing was pretty waffly and it just didn’t draw me in.

However, things started picking up in the second half, and I have to admit I became hooked. The story really took off. There’s excitement, wit, likeable characters, proper baddies, and special abilities galore. There’s also a nice little romance brewing – and no love triangle in sight (my YA pet hate). I was still a bit put off by the writing style because Rysa Walker does seem to waffle on more than I’d like, but I am intrigued to see where the next book will take go. The Delphi Effect isn’t my favourite YA story, but it’s on the better side of average, with the potential to improve as the trilogy goes on.

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

2 thoughts on “The Delphi Effect – Rysa Walker

Leave a Reply

