Blogger Recognition Award

award.png

Thanks so much to Emma @ Afterbutterflyrain for nominating me (her blog is fabulous – you should definitely check it out)! I really appreciate the tag.

Rules:

  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice for new bloggers.
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.

How my blog started:

I started this blog for three main reasons:Β to keep track of my reading, to interact with other book-lovers, and to create evidence of my love of books for when I send out job applications to publishing houses. I cannot for the life of me remember where the I got the idea. I hadn’t particularly looked at other blogs or done much research. I didn’t expect anyone (other than my family) to read my posts and I didn’t expect it to be so much fun. The origin story of my blog isn’t terribly exciting, is it.

My advice for new bloggers:

1: Interact with other bloggers. Take the time to find and communicate with other book bloggers. There’s a really friendly community out there, and liking and commenting on other posts will help to create more traffic on your own blog. Plus you might make friends, which is always nice. I’ve picked up a few really loyal followers, but it’s a two way street and I always try to support them as much as they’re supporting me.

2: Don’t be afraid to ask for ARCs. For those that don’t know, an ARC is an advance readers copy of a book (pre-publication). There are some great website (my favourite is NetGalley) that are free to join where you can request copies of books to review. It’s up to the publishers to decide who gets a copy, and as long as you meet their criteria there’s no reason why that can’t be you. I’ve read a huge number of posts about how there’s supposedly some rule about having a certain number of months and followers behind your blog, but I was completely unaware of this when I started out. As soon as I heard about NetGalley I signed up and was approved for 3 or 4 books within a few weeks. I must have only written a few reviews at that point, but I was still approved for some ARCs.

I nominate:

(Sorry if you’ve already been tagged or don’t want to be).

3 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    No, I love being tagged…even though I haven’t done one in awhile. Because I plan on doing one a week: then I’ll feel like I’m giving back to those who tag me. So thank you for thinking of me: I always love to be thought of!
    And I have gotten some great tags, so thank you! Thanks for thinking of me. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

