Bloodlust – C. R. Benson

518dtd0btxlIn this paranormal romance, reformed delinquent Derek has just started college in a new place, hoping to turn his life around, where he meets the lovely Mila and quickly falls in love. But trouble is brewing. His old gang, The Pack, are following him and a mysterious burning ring has appeared on his chest. Just when things are looking bad enough, Derek has a run in with a strange man who tells him about some curse and then attacks him. From then on, things get really dangerous and Derek must fight to protect his friends and the girl he loves from terrors both human and supernatural.

The main focus of this story is the romance between Mila and Derek, which is pretty nice. For a large chunk of the book, Mila has another boyfriend and Derek is torn between wanting to win her over and not wanting to hurt her. Unfortunately, I didn’t find myself caring about any of the characters (which made it quite difficult for me to get into the story – a real shame because it really wasn’t bad). The parts involving The Pack were detailed and well thought out, and a lot of the story was fast paced and exciting. Sadly, it took too long to get going and had lost my attention before things got good.

One thing I do have to say though: the ending was rather unexpected. It just was really not how I thought things would go. That was a really nice touch. It’s rare to find an author brave enough to add the kind of twist Bloodlust ended with.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

3 thoughts on “Bloodlust – C. R. Benson

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    I would think the second a burning ring appeared on my chest, that would be the moment I knew shit was hitting the fan. That would spoil anyone’s day, I’d like to think.
    If it happened to me, I’d be freaked the f*** out and head to the hospital…or a priest! 😱

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

