Once Lost Lords – Stephen Morse

31127839This review will be brief, because to be honest I’m not even sure what happened.

Synopsis from Goodreads: Humanity hasn’t been alone for almost two thousand years. Elves, wolves, vampires, all joined together with mankind to eradicate the ‘darker’ races and maintained a tentative peace until modern times. Society adapted, everyone has rules that help keep the peace in this modern era. Yet, absolute genocide is impossible when talking about creatures beyond the pale. Some hid, some buried, other were re-purposed.

Some, like Jay Fields, pass for human with a little bit extra. His abilities didn’t belong to one of the major races, but any information was buried along with the long dead boogie men. All Jay cared about was those closest to him and a job that let him hit people. He used to be a bouncer at a bar, a part-time enforcer for a loan shark, and even a fight club champion. That was four years ago, before betrayal by someone close sent him packing.

Now he’s back and trying to recover a life he left behind. Questions of origin aren’t his only problems. His ex-girlfriend is a vampire. His part-time boss doesn’t think he’s up to snuff anymore. There’s a missing elf who might have some answers, and Jay’s best friend is caught up in something dangerous… 

There was nothing intrinsically wrong with Once Lost Lords, I just wasn’t interested. It didn’t draw me in at all. I actually read 3 other books between starting and finishing this one (which, let me tell you, is not a good sign). I honestly don’t even know why I didn’t like it. I love vampires and elves and magic, but I just didn’t care who these characters were or what they were doing (to the extent that, although I only finished the book yesterday, I can’t remember what happened in it). Also, I never fully understood the ‘lord’ situation (I say not fully, what I really mean is not at all). I think this is the first part in a series, so maybe it would become clearer later, but it seemed weird to not understand something so central to the story.

I feel like the story line might have actually been quite good – and not totally badly written – I just could not get into it. I will not be reading the rest of the series.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

3 thoughts on “Once Lost Lords – Stephen Morse

Leave a Reply

