Halloween Read-A-Thon 2016: The Results!

So, as you may know, I’ve been doing Lauren @ Wonderless Review’s Halloween Read-A-Thon. It’s been really fun – I’ve loved having an excuse to ready creepy and supernatural books. I started out really well (finished half of my books within the first week) but then I got really slack and really struggled to finish all six books! (Boohoo!)

I have provided links to my full reviews for each book (just click on the titles!). Anyway, here’s how I got on…


halloween1

Bloodlust by C R Benson: As it turns out, this was more of a romance and was therefore not scary at all. But still, full of wolves and fighting and a curse from the devil – very Halloween! It was far from the best paranormal romance I’ve ever read, but I didn’t hate it.518dtd0btxl

halloween2

Buan: The Perfect Mortals by Reece Bridger: this book contained demons and monsters. It was good, but was largely setting up for the rest of the series (which I am looking forward to reading).51oskMb35qL

halloween3

Abduction by Nicole Hatfield: Again, turned out to be not scary AT ALL. Abduction sounded like a kind of horror/kidnapping story, and turned out to be another romance (including sex and everything). I did enjoy it, but it really didn’t fit with the Halloween theme.

30524032

halloween4

The Nurse by Amy Cross: I actually read pretty much everything after sunset, but I specifically chose The Nurse for this because Amy Cross is a well-known horror writer. I was not disappointed. It wasn’t actually as scary as I expected, but it was a brilliant story with creepy aspects and a totally unexpected twist. Loved it.

51ycadeqoql

halloween5

The Things We Wish Were True by Marybeth Mayhew Whalen: I chose treat because I didn’t want to overdo the horror (although it turns out I didn’t really need a break from it since most of my choices were not scary at all). I truly loved this book. It was so intricate and real, and even had a level of Halloween-appropriateness that I wasn’t expecting.

51mbmthrssl

halloween6

Risen by M. T. Miller: I finished my last book with two days to spare! This was short, fast and pretty good. Full of violence and mystery, I really enjoyed it and will definitely be reading the next book to find out what’s going on.

51izcz1ss9l


Did you do the read-a-thon? How did it go for you? Thank you so much Lauren, for coming up with such a fun Halloween activity!

5 thoughts on “Halloween Read-A-Thon 2016: The Results!

Leave a Reply

