The House of Birds – Morgan McCarthy

27999444When his girlfriend, Kate, inherits an old house and with it an old a family feud, Oliver takes on the responsibility of getting the house in a sellable condition. However, the house holds some kind of allure for Oliver and, when he discovers an old diary, he beings a quest to find out what happened to the diary’s owner, and what was intended to happen to the house.

I heard so much about this book before starting. The cover is beautiful, and the reviews were great. I was so disappointed. The writing itself is pretty good: lovely and descriptive, and easy to read. Where the book fell down for me was the characters – I didn’t like any of them. Oliver was meek and annoying, Kate wasn’t very nice, Sophia and Boll were both selfish, George was horrible (although that wasn’t bad because he wasn’t supposed to be nice), and we never got enough detail about Christopher for me to form much of an attachment. The only saving grace was Lena, and even she didn’t really have a big enough part to make a difference. Because of this, I never got properly into the story. I just didn’t care what happened to anyone. It’s a real shame because I was really excited to read this book.

The House of Birds does have a decent story in there, but it’s hard to say much more because I found myself skimming over a lot of it in the end. Give it a shot, but don’t have high hopes – my high expectations ruined it for me.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

