Sometimes I Lie – Alice Feeney

32991958“My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me:

1. I’m in a coma.
2. My husband doesn’t love me anymore.
3. Sometimes I lie.”

Amber can hear everything going on around her as she lies in hospital, in a coma. She was in an accident, but she can’t remember what happened. All she knows is that she’s sure her husband has something to do with it. As Amber catches snippets of conversation around her, she starts to regain her memory, with some shocking revelations.

No more can be said on the plot without giving things away, so let’s move on. Basically, this book was confusing. Alice doesn’t know who to trust – including herself – and so we’re given quite a lot of clashing information. Is her husband nice or was he involved in some way? What is up with her sister? Why does she go to work every day at a job she hates surrounded by people she doesn’t like? Are her parents dead or alive? Who knows what is going on? Not me, that’s for sure. It does come together in the end, but even then what really happened is unclear, which I guess is a pretty effective way to finish a book but I didn’t like it. I wanted to know exactly what happened and, unfortunately, this book doesn’t give us that.

Overall, it’s a good story. There are a mix of intriguing characters, and a very twisty plot – certainly psychologically thrilling, just not conclusive enough for me.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads | Amazon

Leave a Reply

